I read the cards

I sat down and first did a Celtic Cross spread with my Tarot cards. When I looked at the spread I gazed at it long and hard.

In front of me were the following cards.

The Hanged Man

The Tower

The Devil

The Lovers

Then there were :

the nine of cups

the two of swords

the page of wands

the four of pentacles

the five of cups

and the two of cups

The Hanged Man obviously referred to my present state of waiting. The Tower was a pretty good description of my past and my attempts to escape from it. The Devil obviously was my past and the Lovers would (hopefully) be my future.

The nine of cups symbolised my aspirations for a happy future; the two of swords represented my subconscious with all its inner conflicts; the page of wands meant that I was going to get some advice – I didn’t know who from – the four of pentacles represented the external influences on me and those I was involved with; the five of cups stood for my hopes and fears and in particular my fear of disappointment; and the two of cups is the card of love and marriage and represented the outcome of my spread.

I then repeated my divination with the ordinary playing cards and drew the following spread.

Eight of clubs, king of hearts, jack of diamonds, seven of hearts, ace of spades, nine of clubs and two of hearts.

The eight of clubs means a dark young woman and also means patience. The king of hearts means a fair-skinned man, often with money. The Jack of Diamonds means a man in authority but also help from a stranger. The seven of hearts means that love with prevail. The ace of spades means problems but also a proposal. The nine of clubs stands for danger but also for marriage. The two of hearts, my final card, means a visit from friends but also marriage.

Both spreads were encouraging and seemed to show that in spite of the difficulties I would somehow get my Mr Right!

Leave a comment